Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Tosha B. Wetterneck, MD, MS, FACP, inaugurated as Society president

Release Date: April 21, 2012

Madison — Tosha B. Wetterneck, MD, MS, FACP, of Madison was inaugurated as the 161st President of the Wisconsin Medical Society during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center on April 20. The president of the Wisconsin Medical Society serves a one-year term. Doctor Wetterneck succeeds George M. Lange, MD, FACP, of River Hills.

In her inaugural speech, Dr. Wetterneck focused on helping physicians practice good medicine. “Our first obligation as physicians is to the individual patient – to keep sacred the physician-patient relationship, to work with our patients on an individual level to help them make decisions about their own health care without regard to the costs of care,” she said. “If there is one thing that all physicians agree upon, it is the sanctity of the physician-patient relationship and the need to protect this relationship from government or regulatory interference.”

An internal medicine physician and hospitalist, Dr. Wetterneck cares for patients at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics in Madison and is an associate professor at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health. She is a researcher at the Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement and an associate faculty member in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. As a member of the Systems Engineering Initiative for Patient Safety at UW-Madison, she currently leads a study evaluating the use of a pre-visit planning intervention to improve the care of elderly patients in primary care clinics in Wisconsin.

Since beginning her training at the Medical College of Wisconsin, Dr. Wetterneck has served in numerous Society leadership roles. A native of Schofield in central Wisconsin, she also holds a master’s degree in population health sciences from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Since 2005, Dr. Wetterneck has served on the Wisconsin Medical Society Board of Directors, and she previously served on the Society’s Policy Panel, Membership Committee, Nominating Committee, Professionalism Task Force and Health Care Reform Task Force.

Timothy G. McAvoy, MD, of Elm Grove also was elected president-elect and will succeed Dr. Wetterneck in April 2013. The Society’s Board of Directors includes physicians from across Wisconsin as well as a student representative from each of the two medical schools in the state.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.