Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

2016 Annual Meeting Wrap-up


Barbara A. Hummel, MD, of West Allis was inaugurated the 165th president of the Wisconsin Medical Society during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center April 2-3 in Madison. Doctor Hummel succeeds Jerry L. Halverson, MD, DFAPA, of Fitchburg.

A board-certified family physician, Dr. Hummel is in private practice and is affiliated with Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center and Aurora West Allis Medical Center. As Society president, she plans to focus attention on professional satisfaction and its potentially adverse effects to the physician-patient relationship. Click here to watch her inaugural speech, and click here read more about her.

More than two dozen physicians were elected to Society leadership positions during the Annual Meeting, including Noel Deep, MD, of Antigo, who was elected president-elect. Doctor Deep is a board-certified internist with additional certification in hospice and palliative medicine at Aspirus Antigo Clinic and Aspirus Langlade Hospital.

Other physicians elected to leadership positions include Molli Rolli, MD, who was re-elected chair of the Board of Directors; Thomas M. Derrig, MD, who was re-elected vice chair; Julie B. Schuller, MD, MPH, MBA, who was re-elected treasurer; and Jay A. Gold, MD, JD, MPH, who was re-elected vice speaker of the House of Delegates. Click here for more information about these physicians, as well as new and re-elected board members and AMA delegates. Read more.

Highlights and House of Delegates actions

In addition to the inaugural ceremony and debate and action taken by the House of Delegates (HOD) on resolutions, the weekend featured several highlights including “Innovations in Health Care.” The new quality improvement and research forum included both a CME program and a poster session. (Proceedings will be published in the June 2016 issue of WMJ.)

Invited guest speakers were Gov. Scott Walker and David Barbe, MD, immediate past chair of the AMA Board of Trustees.

For a detailed summary of HOD actions, click here.*

Society, Foundation awards presented

Several individuals were recognized for their achievements and contributions to patients and the profession. Among those honored were George M. Lange, MD, who received the Directors Award; Michael Ostrov, MD, MS, who received the 2016 Physician Citizen of the Year Award; and U.S. House of Representatives Speaker Paul Ryan and Clarence Chou, MD, who each received Presidential Citations.

The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation presented four awards: the Kenneth M. Viste MD, Young Physician Leadership Award to Alicia Arnold, MD, of Eau Claire; the Presidential Scholar Award to Anupriya Dayal, a student at the Medical College of Wisconsin; and the Houghton Awards to fourth-year medical students Caitlin Regner and Kathryn Nix.

Click on the links at right to read more about these awards.

Mark your calendar for the Society’s 2017 Annual Meeting: April 22-23 at the Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells.

*(Member log-in is required to access the resolutions and final actions. Click here to access the log-in page. Additional member log-in information is here.)