Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Amy Liepert, MD, recipient of Young Physician Leadership Award

Release Date: April 26, 2017
Contact: Kendi Parvin - 608.442.3748 kendi.parvin@wismed.org

MADISON (April 26, 2017) — The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation recognized Amy Liepert, MD, of Madison, with the Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Young Physician Leadership Award during its Annual Fundraising Dinner and Silent Auction in Wisconsin Dells April 21. The Viste Award is presented each year to a young physician who demonstrates commitment to patients, the medical profession and the community.

Doctor Liepert specializes in acute care and emergency general surgery and trauma surgery at UW Health Surgery Clinic. Her research interests include patient safety, health quality and outcomes research, and improvement in clinical processes. She is chair-elect of the Wisconsin Medical Society Young Physician Section Governing Council, chairs the Wisconsin Surgical Society Policy, Planning and Government Relations Committee and is the region chief of the American College of Surgeons Health Policy Advocacy Council.

In his nomination, Suresh Agarwal, MD, said, “On a local, regional and national level, she (Liepert) has been incredibly successful in her efforts engaging physicians and legislators to discuss issues relevant to patients and physicians and has been enlisted by the American College of Surgeons to spearhead efforts to prioritize advocacy goals throughout the nation.” Doctor Agarwal is division chief, Trauma and Acute Care Surgery for the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

Lee Gravatt Wilke, MD, professor of surgery and director, UW Health Breast Center added, “She (Liepert) is a very thoughtful and evidence-based caregiver and one who brings her immense talent and skill to caring for a difficult patient population. Amy is truly a fabulous young physician who will clearly be a leader for our state.”

In addition to presenting an engraved award to Dr. Liepert, the Foundation will contribute $1,000 to the Safe Communities Madison-Dane County on her behalf.

“This contribution will help Safe Communities coordinate county-wide, collaborative campaigns with organizations and individuals to build partnerships to save lives, prevent injuries and make our community safer,” said Cheryl Wittke, executive director of Safe Communities Madison-Dane County.

The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation, chartered in 1955 as a charitable organization, works to advance the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting medical education and public health initiatives across the state.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.