Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Antigo physician chosen Wisconsin Medical Society president-elect

Release Date: April 4, 2016
Contact: Jennifer Wieman - 608.442.3765 jennifer.wieman@wismed.org

MADISON (April 4, 2016)–Wisconsin Medical Society (Society) members elected Noel Deep, MD, of Antigo president-elect during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center in Madison, April 2-3. In 2017, Dr. Deep will succeed Barbara A. Hummel, MD, who was sworn in as the Society’s 165th president on April 2.

Doctor Deep is a board-certified internist with additional certification in hospice and palliative medicine. He practices with the Aspirus Antigo Clinic and Aspirus Langlade Hospital in Antigo, where he serves on the Board of Trustees and was chief of staff for several years, as well as a member of the executive and credentials committees. He is also a Clinical Assistant Professor with the Medical College of Wisconsin.

“Being elected president-elect counts as a great moment for me,” said Dr. Deep. “I am deeply humbled and honored. It also comes with great responsibilities, but I’m very confident that with the help of the Society’s experienced leaders and staff, I will serve in this position to the best of my ability. I look forward to serving the physicians and patients of Wisconsin.”

Doctor Deep has been a member of the Society’s Board of Directors, and serves on the Executive Committee of the Board and Membership and Nominating Committees, as well as the Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation’s Board of Trustees. Additionally, he’s member of the Society’s House of Delegates, and previously served as chair of the Young Physicians Section.

In addition to his involvement in the Society, Dr. Deep is also very active in the American College of Physicians (ACP) and the American Medical Association (AMA). He is the current Secretary and member of the Executive Committee of the Wisconsin Chapter of the ACP, and he was a member and served as chair of the ACP’s national Council of Young Physicians. He also served as a member of the Board of Governors and Board of Regents of the ACP. He has been a delegate to the AMA House of Delegates, representing the ACP, and was elected to the AMA Council on Science and Public Health. He also was a member of the AMA Young Physician Assembly and served as Reference Committee chair and Handbook Review Committee chair on several occasions and was a member of the AMA YPS task forces on Maintenance of Certification and Scope of Practice.

A graduate of Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad, India, Dr. Deep completed his residency at the Chicago Medical School/ Rosalind Franklin University of Health Sciences. He is a past secretary and president of Langlade County Medical Society.

His commitment and leadership on behalf of patients and the profession have not gone unnoticed. He is the recipient of several state and national awards, including the Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation’s prestigious Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Young Physician Leadership Award, the AMA Foundation’s Young Physician Leadership Award, the Wisconsin Chapter of the ACP’s Young Internist of the Year Award and the Addis Costello Internist of the Year Award, among others.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.