Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Aspirus physicians chosen for Physician Citizen of the Year Award

Release Date: April 11, 2013
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

MADISON – The Wisconsin Medical Society has selected two physicians from Aspirus Kronenwetter Clinic as recipients of the 2013 Physician Citizen of the Year Award. Ryan Gossett, MD, and William Nietert, MD, will be honored Saturday during the Society’s Annual Meeting in Madison for their contributions to the Never Forgotten Honor Flight.

Because of Drs. Gossett and Nietert, more than 800 military veterans from Northern Wisconsin have flown to Washington, DC, to visit the memorials built in their honor, according to the nomination from Mike Thompson and Jim Campbell. The physicians “spend their day thanking these World War II and Korean War veterans for their service while monitoring their health along the way so that they may enjoy their trip of a lifetime,” Thompson and Campbell wrote.

Before the flights, Drs. Gossett and Nietert screen each veteran’s medical history and interview every participant to ensure that they receive the medical assistance they need on flight day. They also assist veterans from wheelchairs to the airplanes and busses, educate community members about the organization and recruit other physicians to serve as guardians and members of the medical team. Doctors Gossett and Nietert have served on the organization’s Board of Directors since its inception in 2009.

The Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award recognizes physicians in the state who volunteer their time and talents through civic and cultural activities, helping to improve the health and well-being of their communities.

With more than 12,000 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.