Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Drs. Lewandowski, DeFranco receive Society’s Presidential Citation

Release Date: April 24, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison — Thomas Lewandowski, MD, of Appleton Cardiology ThedaCare and Anthony DeFranco, MD, of Aurora Health Care in Milwaukee received the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Presidential Citation Award on April 20 during the Society’s Annual Meeting. Outgoing President George M. Lange, MD, FACP, presented the award to the physicians for their work on SMARTCare, a collaborative effort of the Wisconsin Medical Society, the Wisconsin and Florida Chapters of the American College of Cardiology (ACC), and employer and consumer groups.

“This is a symbol of commitment that we’re making to the Society and to our fellow physicians that we physicians need to lead the cost-quality initiative and keep patients and our mission at the center of what we’re doing,” Dr. DeFranco said upon receiving the award.

Doctor DeFranco is an interventional and clinical cardiologist and serves as Secretary of the Wisconsin Chapter of the ACC. He has been nationally recognized for his work in intravascular imaging and issues affecting the quality of medical care. He has authored or co-authored more than 50 scientific articles, book chapters and review articles.

A non-interventional cardiologist, Dr. Lewandowski is Governor of the Wisconsin Chapter of the ACC and serves on the Partnership for Healthcare Payment Reform Steering Committee. He is a fellow of the ACC, the American Society of Echocardiography and the Society of Cardiac Computed Tomography.

SMARTCare, which stands for Smarter Management and Resource Use for Today’s Complex Care Delivery, aims to address variation in the treatment of ischemic heart disease and has the potential to be a model for decision making and to impact payment models across numerous specialties and conditions.

“By participating in a shared decision-making process, (patients and physicians) can determine appropriate treatment based on evidence and registry data in real time,” Dr. Lange said during the award presentation ceremony at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center. “This, in turn, will lead to better quality for the patient, more consistent care for all patients and reduced costs. And it’s an inspiring example of what we can achieve when we work together.”

The Presidential Citation award recognizes physicians or health care professionals who have made a significant contribution to medicine or public health.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.