Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Gerald Clarke, MD, elected to Society Board of Directors

Release Date: April 27, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison — Gerald Clarke, MD, of Menasha was elected to a three-year term on the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Board of Directors at the Society’s Annual Meeting April 20-21. A board-certified ophthalmologist, Dr. Clarke cares for patients at Optivision Eye Care in Appleton, Berlin and Oshkosh.

Doctor Clarke graduated from Loyola University School of Medicine and completed his residency at Milwaukee’s Eye Institute. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and a member of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons and the Sports Ophthalmology Association of the Americas.

Doctor Clarke joins Valerie Zapolsky, MD, of Oshkosh and Terry L. Hankey, MD, of Waupaca as representatives for District 5, which includes Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Outagamie, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago counties. He succeeds Kevin Jessen, MD, of Fond du Lac.

Tosha B. Wetterneck, MD, MS, FACP, of Madison was inaugurated as the Society’s 161st president and Timothy G. McAvoy, MD, of Elm Grove was elected president-elect. An internal medicine physician and hospitalist, Dr. Wetterneck is serving a one-year term as president. Doctor McAvoy is an internal medicine physician in private practice in Waukesha. The Society’s Board of Directors includes physicians from across Wisconsin as well as a student representative from each of the two medical schools in the state.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.