Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Medical students honored with Houghton Award

Release Date: April 26, 2017
Contact: Kendi Parvin - 608.442.3748 kendi.parvin@wismed.org

MADISON (April 26, 2017) — Two fourth-year medical students have been named 2017 recipients of the Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation’s prestigious Houghton Award. Megan Marie Mohnen and John Scholl received the awards during the Foundation’s Annual Fundraising Dinner and Silent Auction in Wisconsin Dells April 21.

Mohnen, a student at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW), has excelled academically and was selected for the local chapter of the national medical honor society Alpha Omega Alpha. She also has served as president for the MCW Student Assembly and has held numerous leadership roles mentoring, teaching and volunteering in the community to raise health awareness of health care professions and as a regular volunteer at the Saturday Clinic for the Uninsured.

In nominating Mohnen for this award, Associate Dean for Student Affairs Nancy Havas, MD, offered high praise. “This combination of service, leadership, advocacy and academic excellence speaks to her (Mohnen’s) dedication to the future of her profession,” she said.

Mohnen plans to complete a combined residency in pediatrics and anesthesiology at Boston Children’s Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

Scholl, a student at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, has excelled academically and also was selected for the local chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society. In addition, he was elected by his peers into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

In their joint nomination letter, Associate Dean of Students Gwen McIntosh, MD, and Director of Student Services Christopher Stillwell, said Scholl was the ideal choice for this award. “The University of Wisconsin, the Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation, and most importantly the citizens and patients of Wisconsin could not be more fortunate that one of ours has chosen to train and practice here.”

Scholl plans to stay in Wisconsin to complete residency training in internal medicine at University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics.

The Houghton Award was established by Drs. John H. and William J. Houghton in the 1960s to honor medical students who show promise for becoming what the brothers referred to as “complete physicians” –those who excel in their knowledge of both the scientific and socioeconomic issues related to medicine. One recipient at each of Wisconsin’s two medical schools receives the annual award, which includes $1,000.

John H. Houghton, MD, who was a general practitioner in Wisconsin Dells, was president of the State Medical Society of Wisconsin (now the Wisconsin Medical Society) from 1965 to 1966. William J. Houghton, MD, who also was active in the Society, was a general surgeon in Milwaukee.

The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation, chartered in 1955 as a charitable organization, works to advance the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting medical and health education and statewide public health initiatives.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.