Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Milwaukee area physicians elected to Society leadership positions

Release Date: April 27, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison — The Wisconsin Medical Society’s House of Delegates confirmed the elections of the following physicians and medical student to leadership positions at the Society’s Annual Meeting in Madison April 20-21.

  • Michael W. Lischak, MD, of Brookfield was re-elected to a three-year term on the Board of Directors. Doctor Lischak is an occupational medicine specialist at Gateway Medical Clinic in West Allis.


  • George Chip Morris, MD, of Whitefish Bay was re-elected to a three-year term on the Board of Directors. A neurologist, Dr. Morris is medical director of the Regional Epilepsy Center at Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center.


  • Philip Redlich, MD, PhD, of Glendale was re-elected to a one-year term as the Board’s Medical Schools Section representative. He is associate dean for curriculum and professor of surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.


  • Senthil Rathinavelu of Milwaukee was elected to a one-year term, representing for the Medical Student Section. He is a student at the Medical College of Wisconsin.


  • Michael Miller, MD, FASAM, FAPA, of Madison was re-elected to a two-year term as vice speaker of the House of Delegates. Doctor Miller is medical director of the Herrington Recovery Center at Rogers Memorial Hospital in Oconomowoc.


  • Clarence P. Chou, MD, of Mequon was re-elected to a two-year term as a delegate to the American Medical Association. Doctor Chou is a psychiatrist in the Behavioral Health Division of Milwaukee County’s Department of Health and Human Services. A board-certified psychiatrist, he is an associate clinical professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin.


Doctors Lischak and Morris serve as representatives of District 1, which includes Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha counties.

Tosha B. Wetterneck, MD, MS, FACP, of Madison also was inaugurated as the Society’s 161st president and Timothy G. McAvoy, MD, of Elm Grove was elected president-elect. Doctor McAvoy is an internal medicine physician in private practice in Waukesha. The Society’s Board of Directors includes physicians from across Wisconsin as well as a student representative from each of the two medical schools in the state.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.