Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Physicians, medical students elected to Society leadership positions

Release Date: April 10, 2014
Contact: Kendi Parvin - 608.442.3748 kendi.parvin@wismed.org

MADISON – More than a dozen physicians and medical students from across the state were elected to leadership positions with the Wisconsin Medical Society during the organization’s Annual Meeting in Green Bay April 5 and 6. Richard A. Dart, MD, of Marshfield was inaugurated as the Society’s 163rd president, and Jerry Halverson, MD, of Fitchburg was elected president-elect.

Doctor Dart, a retired nephrologist, succeeds Timothy G. McAvoy, MD, of Elm Grove. A board-certified adult psychiatrist, Dr. Halverson will succeed Dr. Dart in 2015.

Several other physicians were elected to Society leadership positions, including Thomas Derrig, MD, of Summit, who was re-elected treasurer; and Michael Miller, MD, of Madison, who was re-elected vice speaker of the House of Delegates. A general surgeon with Aurora Wilkinson Group in Summit, Dr. Derrig also was elected to his second three-year term on the Society’s Board of Directors. Doctor Miller, a psychiatrist and addiction medicine specialist, is medical director of the Herrington Recovery Center of Rogers Memorial Hospital in Oconomowoc.

In addition, Molli Rolli, MD, a Madison psychiatrist, was re-elected to a one-year term as Board Chair as well as her third three-year term on the Board of Directors. Barbara Hummel, MD, of West Allis was re-elected to a one-year term as Vice Chair.

The following also were elected to the Board of Directors:

  • Jeffrey W. Bailet, MD, of Lake Geneva is an otolaryngologist with AMG Aurora Medical Group. The Executive Vice President of Aurora Healthcare and President of Aurora Medical Group, Dr, Bailet is completing an unexpired term on the Society’s Board.
  • Andrew V. Beykovsky, MD, of Brookfield, is a neurological surgeon with Neurologic Associates of Waukesha, Ltd. He is beginning his second three-year term.
  • Donn Dexter, MD, of Eau Claire, is a neurologist and sleep medicine physician with Mayo Clinic Health System beginning his first term.
  • James C. Gariti, MD, of Cottage Grove, is a family medicine physician with Vein Clinics of America elected to his first term.
  • Cynthia Hart, MD, of Ashland, is a family medicine physician with Chequamegon Clinic beginning her first three-year term.
  • Mark Kehrberg, MD, of Menasha, is a pediatrician with Mercy Medical Center. He is Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer and is beginning his first three-year term. Previously, he had filled an unexpired term.
  • Colin Kennedy, of Madison, is a medical student at the University of Wisconsin Medical School in Madison who will serve a one-year term.
  • Jeffrey A. Kurtz, MD, of Schofield, is a retired plastic surgeon who is beginning his first term.
  • Don Lee, MD, of Franklin, is a hospitalist and internal medicine physician with Columbia St. Mary’s Inpatient Medicine Program-Milwaukee. He is beginning his first 3-year term, having served previously as a Young Physician Section Board Director.
  • Edith A. McFadden, MD, of Milwaukee, is an otolaryngologist and allergist with Ear, Nose, Throat & Allergy Center. She is returning to the Board after having served several years ago.
  • Casey Melcher, MD, of Milwaukee, is radiology resident with Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare/St Joseph Hospital. He is serving a one-year term.
  • Anthony A. Otters, MD, of Nashotah, is an internal medicine physician who is beginning his first three-year term. He previously served an unexpired term.
  • Elizabeth Pritts, MD, of Middleton, is an endocrinologist with The Wisconsin Fertility Institute. She is completing an unexpired term.
  • Patrick Remington, MD, of Madison, is serving a one-year term. He is a Professor of Population Health Sciences and Associate Dean for Public Health at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.
  • Jamie Schneider, of West Allis, is a medical student at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee who will serve a one-year term.

The House of Delegates also elected Clarence Chou, MD, of Milwaukee and Paul A.Wertsch, MD, of Madison as delegates to the American Medical Association (AMA).