Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society director appointed to HHS advisory committee on physician payment models

Release Date: October 12, 2015
Contact: Kendi Parvin - 608.442.3748 kendi.parvin@wismed.org

MADISON (Oct. 12, 2015) – Wisconsin Medical Society Director Jeffrey Bailet, MD, has been appointed to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC), a new 11-member committee created to provide comments and recommendations the Secretary of Health and Human Services on physician payment models following the repeal of Medicare’s sustainable growth rate formula.

“Doctor Bailet’s appointment to the technical advisory committee is great news for Wisconsin physicians,” said Molli Rolli, MD, chair of the Society’s Board of Directors. “Through this role, he will have tremendous influence on the future of Medicare health care delivery and payment. We are very fortunate to have a physician with his experience, vision, focus, leadership and humanity serving on this committee and representing Wisconsin.”

Doctor Bailet was appointed to a three-year term on PTAC; other initial appointments are for one or two years. U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan nominated Dr. Bailet for the committee and the Society provided a letter of support.

A board-certified otolaryngologist, Dr. Bailet is president of the Aurora Medical Group, a multi-specialty group consisting of 1700 physicians and 800 advance practice clinicians staffing more than 150 clinics and 15 hospitals across eastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. He also serves as senior vice president of Aurora Health Care and chairs the Aurora Physician Compensation Committee, where he develops and oversees compensation arrangements for the group’s physicians, specialists and advance practice clinicians.

“The Society would like to thank Dr. Bailet for his willingness to serve in this very important position, not only for the physicians and patients of Wisconsin, but indeed for the benefit of all physicians and patients across the country,” said Society President Jerry Halverson, MD. “Jeff’s expertise, compassion and good old common sense will serve us all very well.”

“Medicare services are growing at a rapid pace and ensuring that the health care industry is prepared and structured to accommodate this growth and shift to value-based compensation is vital,” added Nick Turkal, MD, president and CEO of Aurora Health Care. “Jeff’s appointment to the Technical Advisory Committee speaks to his experience. He will be an asset to the Committee.”

More information about PTAC is available on the U.S. Government Accountability Office’s website.

With over 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.