Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society honors Chippewa Falls psychiatrist

Release Date: April 24, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison, Wis. (April 24, 2012) — Chippewa Falls psychiatrist Bruce Rhoades, MD, was honored April 20 with the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award. He received the award during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

The Physician Citizen of the Year Award was created to recognize physicians who have volunteered their time and talents to improve their communities and the state of Wisconsin. The annual award recognizes physicians for civic, cultural, economic and charitable services they provide to their communities.

An active mental health advocate, Dr. Rhoades provides free counseling for patients of the Open Door Clinic and serves on the Chippewa County Mental Health and Substance Abuse Adult Recovery Advisory Committee and the Board of Directors for The Arc Eau Claire. During his time serving on the Board of Directors for the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), Dr. Rhoades helped revitalize the local chapter of NAMI in Chippewa Falls.

Eight others received Physician Citizen of the Year Awards: A. John Capelli, MD, of Kenosha; Haakon P. Carlson, MD, of Prairie du Sac; Richard T. Crane, MD, of Eau Claire; William J. Jarvis, MD, Kris Lahren, MD, and Mark J. Mirick, MD, all of Wausau; Robert Rohloff, MD, of New Berlin and Blaise Vitale, MD, of Grantsburg.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.