Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society honors Grantsburg physician

Release Date: April 24, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison, Wis. (April 24, 2012) — Blaise Vitale, MD, a primary care physician at the Burnett Medical Center in Grantsburg, was honored April 20 with the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award. He received the award during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

The Physician Citizen of the Year Award was created to recognize physicians who have volunteered their time and talents to improve their communities and the state of Wisconsin. The annual award recognizes physicians for civic, cultural, economic and charitable services they provide to their communities.

“Doctor Vitale has addressed the medical needs of Burnett County’s residents for 20 years, but his dedication extends well beyond his practice,” said Kevin Jessen, MD, who presented the award.

Among the contributions mentioned were Dr. Vitale’s service as medical director for the Burnett County Health Department and as a volunteer at Burnett Medical Center health fairs and promotions. He also is a Boy Scout troop leader and program developer, an adviser to the Burnett County district attorney’s office and a trainer for Spark People, an online community that promotes healthy living and offers free nutrition, health and fitness tools, along with support and resources.

Others receiving Physician Citizen of the Year Awards were A. John Capelli, MD, of Kenosha; Haakon P. Carlson, MD, of Prairie du Sac; Richard T. Crane, MD, of Eau Claire; William J. Jarvis, MD, Kris Lahren, MD, Mark J. Mirick, MD, all of Wausau;  Bruce Rhoades, MD, of Chippewa Falls; and Robert Rohloff, MD, of New Berlin.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.