Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society honors Kenosha physician

Release Date: April 24, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison, Wis. (April 24, 2012) — A. John Capelli, MD, an internal medicine physician with Aurora Medical Group in Kenosha was honored April 20 with the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award.  He received the award during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

The Physician Citizen of the Year Award was created to recognize physicians who have volunteered their time and talents to improve their communities and the state of Wisconsin. The annual award recognizes physicians for civic, cultural, economic and charitable services they provide to their communities.

Described in the award nomination as “… an excellent physician trusted by his many patients” and a community leader who actively supports educational and social organizations, Dr. Capelli was honored for his community leadership, his energetic fundraising and the model way he balances life and service to his patients, community and family. Doctor Capelli received his medical degree from the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Eight others received Physician Citizen of the Year Awards: Haakon P. Carlson, MD, of Prairie du Sac; Richard T. Crane, MD, of Eau Claire; William J. Jarvis, MD, Kris Lahren, MD, and Mark J. Mirick, MD, all of Wausau; Bruce Rhoades, MD, of Chippewa Falls; Robert Rohloff, MD, of New Berlin; and Blaise Vitale, MD, of Grantsburg.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.