Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society honors two Luther Midelfort physicians

Release Date: April 21, 2011
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison, Wis. (April 21, 2011) – Donn Dexter, MD, and Paul Loomis, MD, of Luther Midelfort Mayo Health System in Eau Claire were honored Friday, April 8 with the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award. The physicians received the awards during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Convention Center.

The Physician Citizen of the Year Award was created to recognize physicians who have volunteered their time and talents to improve their communities and the state of Wisconsin. The annual award recognizes physicians for civic, cultural, economic and charitable services they provide to their communities.

One example of Dr. Dexter’s commitment to serving others is the Mighty Docs – an adult hockey team in Eau Claire. “As the founder of this group, Doctor Dexter has taken teamwork to a new level by combining sport and service,” said Society Board Chair Kevin Jessen, MD, in presenting the award. “Because of his leadership, the team has raised more than $90,000 for numerous community organizations.”

When accepting his award, Dr. Dexter quoted Winston Churchill, saying: “We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”

Doctor Loomis also extends his commitment to wellness and prevention far beyond the clinic setting. “As one of the Leaders of Energize Eau Claire County, Dr. Loomis steps up time and time again as an advocate for people in his community,” Dr. Jessen said. “Doctor Loomis also shares his time and talents with a local youth ski program, serving as a volunteer coach and in many other capacities.”

Dedicating the award to his wife, Dr. Loomis said: “As they say, it takes a village; and it takes a family and that support means a lot to me.”

A graduate of Mayo Medical School, Dr. Dexter is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Sleep Medicine and is a fellow of the American Academy of Neurology. Doctor Loomis, a family medicine physician, received his medical degree from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

Four other Society members also received Physician Citizen of the Year Awards: Douglas Dulli, MD, Madison; Jon Englund, MD, Waukesha; and Catherine Ranheim, MD, and Erik Ranheim, MD, Madison.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.