Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Society honors Wausau physicians

Release Date: April 24, 2012
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

Madison, Wis. (April 24, 2012) — William J. Jarvis, MD, Kris Lahren, MD, and Mark Mirick, MD, all of Wausau, were honored April 20 with the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Physician Citizen of the Year Award. The awards were presented during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

The Physician Citizen of the Year Award was created to recognize physicians who have volunteered their time and talents to improve their communities and the state of Wisconsin. The annual award recognizes physicians for civic, cultural, economic and charitable services they provide to their communities.

Doctor Jarvis, an orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine specialist with Bone & Joint Clinic, was recognized for making medical treatment available to injured athletes at various high school sporting events.

Doctor Lahren, a pulmonary and critical care physician at Aspirus, was honored for advocating on behalf of organ recipients and donors as a member of the Tissue and Organ Donation Committee and for the medical care he provides at the St. Vincent de Paul Free Clinic in Merrill.

Doctor Mirick, an emergency medicine physician at Aspirus Wausau Hospital, was recognized for his efforts coordinating the Emergency Room Conference, training new physicians, serving as medical director at Hatley Emergency Medical Service and the Wausau Fire Department, and assisting with other volunteer activities.

Six others received Physician Citizen of the Year Awards: A. John Capelli, MD, of Kenosha; Haakon P. Carlson, MD, of Prairie du Sac; Richard T. Crane, MD, of Eau Claire; Bruce Rhoades, MD, of Chippewa Falls; Robert Rohloff, MD, of New Berlin; and Blaise Vitale, MD, of Grantsburg.

With nearly 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.