Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Timothy McAvoy, MD, inaugurated as Wisconsin Medical Society president

Release Date: April 15, 2013
Contact: Lisa Hildebrand - 608.442.3765 lisa.hildebrand@wismed.org

MADISON — Timothy G. McAvoy, MD, of Elm Grove was inaugurated as the 162nd President of the Wisconsin Medical Society during the Society’s Annual Meeting at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center on April 13. Doctor McAvoy succeeds Tosha B. Wetterneck, MD, MS, FACP, of Madison.

In his inaugural speech, Dr. McAvoy said he looked forward to building on the work of his predecessors – Dr. Wetterneck and George M. Lange, MD, FACP, of River Hills – and Society CEO Rick Abrams, who recently celebrated his first anniversary with the organization. “I am thankful to be gifted with an active and energized Wisconsin Medical Society as I assume this presidency,” he said.

Doctor McAvoy is a board-certified internal medicine physician in private practice in Waukesha. He has served on the staff at Waukesha Memorial Hospital since 1983 and is a member of the hospital’s Ethics Committee. He also serves as medical director for Brookfield Rehabilitation and Specialty Care and Sunny Hill Rehabilitation Center.

A graduate of New York Medical College, Dr. McAvoy has been an active member of the Wisconsin Medical Society since 1983, serving as a member of the Board of Directors from 1990 to 1999 and as a delegate to the Society’s House of Delegates since 1985. He has served on the Executive Committee for the Waukesha County Medical Society since 1984 and was the group’s president in 1991.

At the national level, Dr. McAvoy has served as a delegate to the American Medical Association (AMA) since 2006. In November 2010, he was elected vice chair of the AMA’s Private Practice Physicians’ Caucus.

With more than 12,000 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.