Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Tom Jackson, MD, honored with Society’s Presidential Citation

Release Date: April 27, 2015
Contact: Jennifer Wieman - 608.442.3765 jennifer.wieman@wismed.org

MADISON (April 27, 2015) — Thomas C. Jackson, MD, of Nashotah, Wisconsin, is the recipient of the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Presidential Citation Award. Outgoing Society President Richard A. Dart, MD, recognized Dr. Jackson for his work with the Bread of Healing Clinic in Milwaukee and its team-focused approach for treating patients.

The Presidential Citation was established in 1959 to recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to medicine or public health. Doctor Jackson will receive his award at a later date, but he was honored in absentia during the Society’s Annual Meeting in Madison April 25-26.
aling Clinic in 2000 with nurse Rick Cesar and Barbara Horner-Ibler, MD. All three saw a need for a free clinic in Milwaukee and, together, formed the clinic, which provides medical services, dental care and pharmaceuticals to people without health insurance.

The clinic has grown significantly in 15 years, from seeing 150 patients in its first year to approximately 3,600 today. Hundreds of volunteers comprise the team that cares for these patients. Doctor Jackson not only volunteers as a clinician, but also has served in various roles on the clinic’s board of directors and today is chair of its Board of Development Committee.

“One of the keys to Bread of Healing’s success in treating patients is its team-based approach – something I believe in wholeheartedly,” Dr. Dart said. “Theirs is a wonderful model of the impact a strong team can make on their patients’ lives. Integral to that team is Dr. Jackson.”

With more than 12,500 members dedicated to the best interests of their patients, the Wisconsin Medical Society is the largest association of medical doctors in the state and a trusted source for health policy leadership since 1841.