ACC-012: Graduated Drivers License
Graduated Drivers License: The Wisconsin Medical Society supports the essential features that should be mandated in GDL systems as outlined in the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (WIAAP) position paper titled, WIAAP Position Paper on the banning of cellular phone use for teen drivers in the provision stage of the graduate drivers licensing program, August 2007.
- A learner-permit phase that starts no earlier than 16 years of age and lasts at least 6 months.
- A minimum of 30 hours (preferably 50 hours) of adult-supervised, on-road driving during the permit stage (at least 5-10 of these supervised practice hours should be at night).
- A provisional (intermediate) state, with restrictions, that lasts until 18 years of age.
- A nighttime driving restriction (9 p.m. to 5 a.m. until driving with provisional license for 6 months, followed by a midnight to 5 a.m. restriction until 18 years of age).
- Passenger limits (unless supervised by an adult)
- First 6 months with provisional license: no teenaged passengers.
- Until 18 years of age: no more than 1 teenaged passenger.
- Prompt imposition of fines, remedial driver classes, or license suspension for violation of passenger or curfew restrictions.
- Use of safety belts and appropriate child restraints by all occupants.
- No cellular phone use while in the provisional stage.
- Zero tolerance for alcohol and provisions for administrative license revocation for drunk driving, excessive speeding or reckless driving.
- Documented safe driving record before full licensure is granted. (HOD, 0408)