Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Medigram: August 22, 2013

Top Story

Society, WHA seek change to ACA ‘grace period’
In a letter last week, Wisconsin Medical Society CEO Rick Abrams and Wisconsin Hospital Association President Steve Brenton encouraged the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to change the “grace period” provision in the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Read more

News Briefs

Council updating policy on care for people with mental illness
The Council on Health Care Access will continue its work updating Society policy on care for patients with mental illness at its September 4 meeting. All Society members are welcome to attend or participate via telephone. Read more

Honoring Choices Wisconsin expanding with new participants
Honoring Choices Wisconsin (HCW) is pleased to announce the addition of Aspirus, ThedaCare, Watertown Regional Medical Center (WRMC) and Mayo Clinic Health System to its second round of sites. Read more

Earn CME for webinar on using data, reporting for improvement
Wisconsin Medical Society Senior Director of Research and Data Analytics Cindy Helstad, PhD, will connect internal improvement efforts with external reporting mechanisms during the webinar Using Your Data to Report on Performance at noon Thursday, September 12. Read more

‘Incident-to’ services scrutinized yet again
The 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule proposed rule recommends adding language to ensure that “incident-to” services are provided only by physicians and non-physician practitioners permitted under state law to do so. Read more

WHIO Public Reporting webinars begin
The Wisconsin Health Information Organization (WHIO) is offering six complimentary webinars for primary care physicians included in WHIO’s new public reporting initiative. Read more

Foundation Focus

Nominate a young physician for Viste Award by Nov. 1
The Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation is seeking nominations for the Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD Young Physician Leadership Award to be presented at the 2014 Wisconsin Medical Society Annual Meeting. Read more