Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Wisconsin medical student elected to AMA Board of Trustees, new policies adopted at Interim Meeting

Dina Marie Pitta, a Wisconsin Medical Society member and student at the University of Wisconsin School of Medical and Public Health (UWSMPH), was elected to the American Medical Association’s (AMA) Board of Trustees at its Interim Meeting in Dallas Nov. 8-11. Pitta will begin her term in June 2015.

During the meeting, the AMA’s House of Delegates (HOD) adopted several new policies on key health care issues, including:

  • Providing medical expertise and leadership in collaboration with public health officials in response to epidemics such as Ebola.
  • Supporting the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) interstate licensing compact.
  • Supporting an increase in sobriety checkpoints along U.S. highways.
  • Urging states that are not participating in Medicaid expansion programs through the Affordable Care Act (ACA) to look for other alternatives for adults in the coverage gap.
  • Coordinating with pharmacists to improve the immunization rates for adults over age 18.
  • Supporting regulations that would make 18 the minimum legal age to purchase electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes). This is an extension of AMA policy that was adopted in 2013 that called for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to subject e-cigarettes to the same regulations as other tobacco and nicotine products.

Visit the AMA’s website for more information on these and other policies approved by the HOD.

Wisconsin was well represented at the meeting. In addition to Society president Richard Dart, MD, and Society staff members Rick Abrams and Chris Rasch, the following Society members participated:

  • Delegates Clarence Chou, MD, Timothy McAvoy, MD, Michael Miller, MD, Charles Rainey, MD, JD, and Paul Wertsch, MD.
  • Alternate delegates Andrea Hillerud, MD, Barbara Hummel, MD, George Lange, MD, and Claudia Reardon, MD.
  • Specialty section representatives Society President-Elect Jerry Halverson, MD, Noel Deep, MD, Kesavan Kutty, MD, Laurie Gesell, MD, Dan Bennett, MD, Kevin Flaherty, MD, Michael Brunner, MD, Jake Behrens, MD, and Sara Drystad, MD.
  • Residents Archna Eniasivam, MD, Casey Melcher, MD, Emery Lin, MD, Sharon Rikin, MD, and Andrew Wuenstel, MD.
  • Medical students Anupryia Dayal, Mark Kashtan, Jessica Peterson, Jaime Schneider and Pheobe Jensen from the Medical College of Wisconsin and UWSMPH students Mazdak Bradberry, Kat Braun, Marielle Brenner, Clara Chow, Preshita Date, Ryan Denu, Jillian Gorski, Theodor Griggs, Anna Heffron, Colin Kennedy, James Lehman, Katherine Pronschinske, Jeremy Riekena, Michael Rigby, Andrew Steinfeldt, Jonathan Tai, Matt VandeHei and Pitta.


Back to November 13, 2014 Medigram