Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Annual Meeting highlights include research forum poster session, appearance by Gov. Walker

More than 170 physicians and medical students participated in the Wisconsin Medical Society’s Annual Meeting, held April 2-3 in Madison. In addition to debate and policy-making by the House of Delegates (HOD), the weekend featured several highlights, including the inauguration of President Barbara A. Hummel, MD, the recognition of several award recipients and past Society presidents, and appearances by Gov. Scott Walker and David Barbe, MD, immediate past chair, AMA Board of Trustees.

Both Dr. Barbe and Gov. Walker addressed the opening session of the HOD. Gov. Walker praised the Society for its efforts on a number of health care issues, including work to address the current opioid epidemic, and ended by expressing his thanks.

“Wisconsin is ranked the second best state in the country for quality of health care. That doesn’t happen by accident. It’s great people working as physicians, as nurses and all the other medical professionals out there and great systems across this state,” he said. “We appreciate the work that you do, and we appreciate your commitment to help those in need, in particular. We know it’s an incredible asset for our state.”

Saturday’s CME program, the Innovations in Health Care forum, featured speakers, as well as an inaugural poster session comprised of 21 displayed abstracts. Four posters were selected as the “most promising research” by attendees, and were awarded a $150 prize:

  • “To Examine the Effects of the Implementation of a Medical Scribe on the Productivity and Efficiency of a Primary Care Physician,” Aaron Sandock, BA, MD candidate, presenting author
  • “The Appropriateness Dimension of Quality,” Phil Colmenares, MD, MPH, presenting author
  • “Developing Successful Resident Quality Improvement Projects,” Claudia L. Reardon, MD, presenting author
  • “Cost-Effectiveness, Regionalization of NICUs, and Alternative Preventive Options,” Kofi Fosu, BA, MD candidate, presenting author

All poster abstracts will be published as Forum Proceedings in the June issue of WMJ.

Saturday evening, in addition to the inauguration of Dr. Hummel, past Society presidents and longtime secretary/general manager Earl Thayer were recognized in honor of the organization’s 175th anniversary. Those present included Mark Belknap, MD, Clarence Chou, MD, Richard Dart, MD, Cyril “Kim” Hetsko, MD, Robert Jaeger, MD, George Lange, MD, Thomas Luetzow, MD, Bradley Manning, MD, Timothy McAvoy, MD, and Paul Wertsch, MD, as well as Dr. Hummel and outgoing president Jerry Halverson, MD.

The following award recipients also were recognized during the ceremony:

To view photos of the weekend’s highlights, visit the Society’s Facebook page. Watch future issues of Medigram for additional Annual Meeting followup.

Back to April 7, 2016 Medigram