Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Bailet named chair of HHS advisory committee

Wisconsin Medical Society Director Jeffrey Bailet, MD, has been appointed chair of the new Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC), which will hold its first meeting Feb. 1.

The PTAC is comprised of 11 members who are nationally recognized for their expertise in physician-focused payment models and related delivery of care. The committee was created following passage of the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 to provide comments and recommendations to the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on proposed physician-focused payment models.

A board-certified otolaryngologist, Dr. Bailet is president of the Aurora Medical Group and also serves as senior vice president of Aurora Health Care and chairs the Aurora Physician Compensation Committee. He was nominated for the committee last fall by then U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan (now Speaker of the House) and the Society provided a letter of support.

More information about the PTAC is available in this press release and on the HHS website. on the GAO’s website.

Back to January 21, 2016 Medigram