Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Dec. 31 is deadline for Physician Citizen of the Year Award

Nominations for the Wisconsin Medical Society’s 2018 Physician Citizen of the Year Award are due Dec. 31. First established by the Society in 1982, the award recognizes and encourages Wisconsin physicians who volunteer their time and talents through civic and cultural activities—helping to improve the health and well-being of their communities.

Consider nominating a friend, colleague or personal physician for this award. Details and a nomination form are available on the Society’s website.

Paul Durbin, MD, and Tim Westlake, MD, received 2017 Physician Citizen of the Year Awards. Doctor Durbin, an internal medicine physician who practices with Ascension, was nominated for the award by a colleague for his “exceptional kind and compassionate care, not only for his patients in clinic, but anyone he meets in the community.”

Doctor Westlake was nominated for the award by colleague for his “commitment to addressing the prescription opioid abuse epidemic and expanding medication-assisted treatment throughout Wisconsin, resulting in Wisconsin being a paragon for all states.” He is an emergency medicine physician with ProHealth Care who also serves as vice chair of Wisconsin’s Medical Examining Board and is the MEB’s member on the state’s Controlled Substances Board.

Doctors Durbin and Westlake were recognized in June by the Society’s Board of Directors and will be featured in an upcoming issue if WMJ. Click here to read more.

Back to December 7, 2017 Medigram