Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Nominations open for 2019 Physician Citizen of the Year Award

The Wisconsin Medical Society is now accepting nominations for its 2019 Physician Citizen of the Year Award. First established by the Society in 1982, the award recognizes and encourages Wisconsin physicians who volunteer their time and talents through civic and cultural activities—helping to improve the health and well-being of their communities.

Consider nominating a friend, colleague or personal physician for this award. Details and a nomination form are available on the Society’s website. The nomination deadline is Dec. 31, 2018.

2018 Physician Citizen of the Year Award recipient, Gloria Halverson, MD, was recognized in April by the Society’s House of Delegates. Dr. Halverson’s leadership paved the way both for women in medicine and for the humanitarian work she has done since the early 1990s, working with victims of human trafficking—internationally and in the United States. Her efforts were featured in this episode of WisMed OnCall and she will be profiled in an upcoming issue of WMJ. Click here to read more.

Previous Physician Citizen of the Year recipients include Paul Durbin, MD, of Racine and Tim Westlake, MD, of Oconomowoc (2017); Michael Ostrov, MD, MS, of Madison (2016); Steven Manson, MD, of La Crosse (2015); and Gordon Haugan, MD, of Green Bay. Click here for more information. [LINK: https://www.wisconsinmedicalsociety.org/professional/engagement/physician-recognition/

Back to November 8, 2018 Medigram