Improve the health of the people of Wisconsin by supporting and strengthening physicians' ability to practice high-quality patient care in a changing environment.

Morris, Gundersen become Society president and president-elect

George “Chip” Morris, MD, FAAN, of Milwaukee, was inaugurated the 168th president of the Wisconsin Medical Society and Erik Gundersen, MD, MA, was elected president-elect during the Society’s Annual Meeting, held April 5-7 in Madison. Doctor Morris succeeds Martha “Molli” Rolli, MD, of Madison.

Doctor Morris is currently director of the Epilepsy Clinic at Ascension Columbia St. Mary’s Hospital Milwaukee and has been involved in the development of functional magnetic resonance imaging in the areas of epilepsy and detection of memory and speech. He is also a professor of neurology and an affiliate with Marquette University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Milwaukee, where he is a lecturer in Health Informatics.

During his inaugural remarks, Dr. Morris talked about two issues he hopes to focus on in the coming year: health literacy and physician burnout.

“One single thing we can do in the practice of care giving to make it better is to improve our patients’ ability to understand and use information about their health to be healthy. Physical activity, a diet rich in nutrients and behavior resilience—all should be the focus of health literacy, and all should be taught and trained,” he said. “A healthy person has healthy behaviors, and how we deal with success and adversity shouldn’t be left to happenstance.”

Doctor Morris also plans to be very involved in the Society’s mission to improve physician well-being by “caring for the caregiver”—traveling throughout the state to meet with physicians one-on-one as part of a grassroots effort to help address physician burnout.

Doctor Morris has served on the Society Board of Directors as well as its membership and executive committees, as chair of its Opioid Task Force and as a member of the WMJ Publishing Board. He is a member of the American Medical Association, American Academy of Neurology, American Epilepsy Society, American EEG Society and was president of the Milwaukee Neuropsychiatric Society, Central EEG and Epilepsy Society, and Medical Society of Milwaukee County.

Click here to read more about Dr. Morris.


Society members elected Erik Gundersen, MD, MA, FAAP, of La Crosse, president-elect during the Society’s Annual Meeting on Saturday. Doctor Gundersen, a board-certified family physician and fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians, recently began a new position with Marathon Health as the medical director of the Kwik Trip Center for Health. Prior to that, he practiced family medicine full-time for 20 years with Gundersen Health System in Onalaska. He will succeed Dr. Morris in 2020.

“I am looking forward to advancing the mission of the Wisconsin Medical Society,” said Dr. Gundersen following the election. “It is an honor to represent Wisconsin physicians.”

Click here to read more about Dr. Gundersen.

Several other physicians were elected to Society leadership positions, including Jerry Halverson, MD, DFAPA, of Madison who was re-elected chair of the board of directors; John Hartman, MD, of Green Bay who was re-elected vice chair; and Julie Schuller, MD, MPH, MBA, of Milwaukee who was re-elected treasurer. In addition, Jay Gold, MD, JD, MPH, of Madison was elected Speaker and Tracy McCall, MD, of Waukesha was elected Vice Speaker of the House of Delegates.

Back to April 11, 2019 Medigram